V-Spark Online Help

Enabling and Disabling Readonly Mode

Readonly mode enables administrators to perform maintenance or diagnose performance problems while a V‑Spark installation is still running. While a V‑Spark system is in readonly mode, no new data can be processed and no changes can be made to the V‑Spark installation. V‑Spark can still be used to examine existing data that has already been processed.

Note

Putting a V‑Spark installation into readonly mode only affects the V‑Spark installation. The rest of the processes on the host where V‑Spark is installed continue to operate normally.

The Readonly section of the System Settings page enables you to put a V‑Spark installation into readonly mode and to discontinue this mode when no longer required. To enable readonly mode, check the checkbox to the left of the label Put V‑Spark into readonly mode. A text box displays into which you can enter a message to notify users that the system has been put into readonly mode. Press the Save button to save the message and enable readonly mode.

Note

When any user logs in while the system is in readonly mode, the notification message created on activation will be displayed at the top of the screen, to the right of an Important! icon.

To take a system out of readonly mode, uncheck the checkbox to the left of the Put V‑Spark in readonly mode and press the Save button.

vspark-readonly-fig.png

Note

V‑Spark installations can also be put into readonly mode programmatically using the API. Refer to Using POST with cURL and the /config API and Using POST with Python and the /config API in the V‑Spark API Reference for information about using the API to enter and exit readonly mode.