V-Spark Online Help

User Account Settings, Permissions, and Administration

The User Settings screen shows general user account information, and also displays permissions. System administrators can use this screen to manage individual account permissions, and to disable and delete accounts.

User Permissions

The Permissions section at the bottom of the of the User Settings screen contains a row for each company or organization that has been defined in a V‑Spark installation, as in the following example:

vspark-modify-perms.png

Each company or organization is listed with checkboxes that specify the user's permissions for that entity. Enabling View allows the user to see dashboards for that company or organization. Enabling Create/Edit allows the user to create new or modify existing data under that entity.

User Permission Levels

The Permissions section of the screen enables you to modify the user account's permissions for the entire system, as well as for each company and organization with which the account is associated.

  1. System admin — gives a user Create/Edit permissions to all configurable settings. This level enables the user to create, delete, and modify users, companies, and organizations, and to modify system-wide settings

    Giving a user Create/Edit System admin permissions automatically selects both View and Create/Edit permissions for all companies and organizations in the installation.

    There is no View permission in the System admin section because the View permission is inherently available at the system level when a user already has the privilege to Create/edit any part of V‑Spark's configuration data.

  2. company-level permissions — grants permissions within the specified company.

    Create/Edit permission enables the user to manage other users in that company, and to create and modify organizations.

    View permission enables the user to view dashboards and transcripts for any existing or newly created organization within the specified company.

  3. organization-level permissions — grants permissions within the specified organization.

    Create/edit permission enables a user to create and modify folders and applications that are associated with that organization.

    View permission enables a user to view dashboards and transcripts for that organization.

Company- and organization-level permission settings allow users to see (and, if enabled, to edit) organizations and associated folders outside their home company. As a result, specific users can serve as administrators across multiple organizations in a company, while securing the overall system against tampering.

Disabling a User Account

The Auth portion of the User Settings screen provides a field that enables you to temporarily disable an account. This field is either labeled Enabled or Disabled.

Selecting this field displays a pop-up from which you can select Enabled or Disabled for this account. Click the check mark button to accept the new value or click the x button to close the pop-up without making changes.

Deleting a User Account

  1. Click Accounts on the the Settings menu and scroll to the User Accounts section.

  2. Click the x at the far right of the user entry.

  3. Click Yes, delete this user to confirm the deletion.